Discover Your Chakras

7-Day Beginner Yogi Chakra CleanseThe Chakras are wheels of energy, located in different areas of your body. The energy in and around our body is very sensitive and what ever it is that you are giving your precious energy to will have either a positive or negative effect on your life. Your energy is everything. Think about that for a moment…Good energy versus bad, high energy versus low, loving energy versus fear filled energy. That is why I say: change your energy, change your life!

Now lets bring the chakras into the mix. If your chakras are balanced then the energy of that chakra is working for you in that area of your life (be it physically, mentally or spiritually). If your chakras are imbalanced, certain areas of your life (energetically linked to a particular chakra) wont be working as well as it could if it was healthy and balanced.

Right now your are probably thinking that if you have never worked on your chakras before then they must all be imbalanced…Not necessarily! Although, if cleansing and detoxing the chakras is new to you then chances are they are all in need a little love! Every one is different. We have all had different experiences that shape who we are. Your upbringing, beliefs, conditioning, values and past lives (if you believe in reincarnation!) all have an effect on the health of your chakras and your energy.

For example, let’s say as a child you grew up in a home that often wasn’t a happy one. Your parents fought regularly and the energy in the house was often angry and tense. You would often retreat into your bedroom and there was never any acknowledgment or talk about the fighting and angry words that were spoken (or yelled). As you got older you learnt to accept that this was what family life was like and never let your parents know how their actions affected you. You eventually move out of home and find yourself a job. You enjoy your job when you are left alone to do your work but whenever someone challenges something you do or asks for your thoughts/feelings on a project or task you clam up, feeling sick in the stomach, you usually just say what ever it takes to get the attention off you. Relationships…well, you struggle to feel safe and heard and usually just go along with what ever the other person wants. If you feel wronged by the other person it usually ends up in a fight because you don’t know any other way to get your thoughts and feelings out. Life is often frustrating and your energy gives out feelings of anger and sadness. Later on in life you experience problems with your hips and suffer from chronic stomach ulcers.

From reading the above you get the idea that a lot of how we are today has to do with experiences of the past. In this example more than a few chakras need some love and attention. Chakra 1 (base of the spine) has been affected by your fear of belonging within the family unit. Chakra 3 (centre of stomach) is imbalanced due to a lack of self esteem and confidence growing up in a home that was volatile and angry. Chakra 4 (heart) is definitely imbalanced and closed off, in need of some loving energy (giving and receiving). Chakra 5 (throat) is blocked because you were never able to use your voice to express what you were feeling growing up, which of course affects you today at work and in your personal life. These energy blocks eventually lead to inflammation and chronic disease.

Hopefully by now you are starting to think about your own life, experiences, beliefs, fears and values and getting an idea of what chakras may need your attention. As mentioned above, your energy is everything. When you change your energy, you change your life. It really is that simple.

If we don’t cleanse and balance our chakras regularly where do you think the negative energy goes? No where. It becomes stuck and blocked, which can cause symptoms to appear in the physical world, or perhaps it turns up as an emotional issue. Something to ponder over for a minute don’t you think…

Below is a list of common imbalances within each chakra energy field. Have a look, trust where you are drawn to and take a moment to write down anything that comes up when you focus on that chakra. It is helpful to get used to focusing your attention on the chakras so that when our 7-Day cleanse begins your chakras are ready to go!

Try not to over analyse at this stage. Just be open and curious about what chakras jump out at you and what your energy feels like when you focus on that area.

Chakra 1 – Base Chakra7-Day Beginner Yogi Chakra Clease

Colour: Red
Location: Base of the spine
Common issues of Chakra 1: Not feeling grounded in life, feeling like you don’t belong (family or community), struggle to survive (food, money, shelter), not able to manifest that which you desire, health conditions of the lower half of the body (hips, legs etc), nourishment of the body, trust issues, materialism (overactive)

Chakra 2 – Sacral Chakra

Location: Just below the navel
Colour: Orange
Common issues of Chakra 2: Unable to express yourself creatively,sexually or as an individual, frigid or overly sexual (over and under active), desires and needs are often suppressed, lack of pleasure and joy in life, feelings of envy or guilt towards others, any health conditions to do with reproductive area, kidneys and bladder.

Chakra 3 – Solar Plexus Chakra

Location: Stomach
Colour: Yellow
Common issues of Chakra 3: Any thing to do with confidence and self-esteem (over or under active tendencies), will and determination, feeling powerful or powerless, lacking discipline or ambition, not feeling strong, gut feelings, health issues surrounding the stomach area.

Chakra 4 – Heart Chakra

Location: Heart
Colour: Green
Common issues of Chakra 4: All matters of the heart – self love, relationships, intimacy, devotion, giving and receiving love (over and under active), any health conditions surrounding the heart.

Chakra 5 – Throat Chakra

Location: Throat
Colour: Blue
Common issues of Chakra 5: Speaking your truth or being truthful, keeping secrets, expression, fear of public speaking, feeling stifled or suffocated, not being able to listen, problems with communicating effectively (over or under active), any health issues surrounding the throat area.

Chakra 6 – Third Eye Chakra

Location: Forehead, in between the eyebrows
Colour: Indigo (like the night sky)
Common issues of Chakra 6: imagination (over or under active), not trusting ones intuition, psychic abilities (over or under active), any health issues surrounding the head.

Chakra 7 – Crown Chakra

Location: Just above the head
Colour: Purple
Common issues of Chakra 7: Belief systems, connection to a ‘higher power’, no divine presence in your life, trouble understanding, not being able to surrender, lacking enlightenment and purpose in life, any health concerns around the brain and nervous system.